The RICS….What’s that?

What is the RICS? 

The RICS stands for the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. 


What is the purpose of the RICS 

The RICS is a global organization who promote and enforce the highest professional standards throughout the property profession.  Their role is to protect consumers through strict regulation, and to maintain a high level of continued education and training. 


Who can be a part of the RICS? 

The RICS has 4 levels of membership. These are as follows; Student, AssocRICS, MRICS & FRICS. 

Fun Fact – All of the PLUM team hold MRICS status!  


What does MRICS mean? 

Each individual of the PLUM team has earned the right to become a Member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (MRICS).  These letters signify you are what’s known as, a Chartered Surveyor.  This is a highly sought-after qualification that takes many years of training and dedication to achieve. 


What does it take to become MRICS? 

A candidate must first complete an RICS accredited degree in order to enroll on the APC pathway  

APC stands for: Assessment of Professional Competence  

Before eligible to take your APC, you are required to complete and record a minimum of 2 years relevant experience within the property profession and submit a Case Study At the final assessment, you must present and respond to technical and practical questions from panel of highly qualified Chartered Surveyors, who are expert within your areas of competence.  

This daunting process is by no means an easy task, which is why the qualification is so renowned within the real estate sector.   


Do you need help from qualified Property Specialist  

If yes, contact us now at or call us on +1 (345) 925-4129 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *